I’m somewhere near the end of ‘Pip Pip: A Sideways Look At Time’. It is a sobering book that is revealing to me things that I had never seen or thought of before. I have read Jay Griffiths’ other book: ‘Wild’ and I found her writing beautiful but very rich. Her writing seems to take time to read and leaves me full of thoughts and ponderings. ‘Pip Pip’ is about time, how we relate to it and how it relates to us.

A week ago I caught sight of the oldest of timekeepers rising through the winter trees at the cottage. Recordings of the moon’s cycle are some of our oldest examples of carvings. I find it much easier to keep an eye on the phases of the moon in the winter months. I try and keep a mental note of its character as it waxes and wanes. Last week an asteroid passed close to the earth, closer than the moon. This sparked a little thought in my mind. Some may lose sleep at the thought of an asteroid arriving from space, but what if it hit the moon? What if our tides suddenly waned and never waxed back. I imagine it would be just as devastating for us and the ecosystem that we often forget we are tethered to.

the moon, wanning from full, through the cottage trees

Inspired by the book on time I found myself caught by the moon. I had just put the little man into his bed. I had just fed him his milk and we had read through Peekaboo Farm many times. He began drifting into sleep as I buried my nose into his head and smelt him, as he sliped into the land of nod. The most amazing smell in the world. The little man seems to adore the smell of his comfort blankie a little more than his mum or dad, but that does not stop me burying my nose into what little hair he has and loving the comforting smell as he drifts off to sleep. After putting him to bed I walked down the narrow stairs in the cottage and caught a glimpse of the moon through the roof window. I don’t really know how long I stood at the window and stared at the moon, and I am glad I don’t know how long. I stood and watched it as the winter winds tore under and around it and I thought about a few things. I would like to think that there were probably a few moments, in un-clocked time, where I did not think at all.

