So there I was standing at the checkout of a discount food shop. The queue was long and it shuffled along slowly. Directly in front of me was an older couple. The man neatly placed a some coffee, tea bags, biscuits, and then a single bag of sugar at the checkout. The plastic divider* was placed just after the man’s modest shopping and the place was set for me to place my bag of sugar, then another, then another, then another, then another, then another, then another, then another, then another, then another, then another, then another, then another, then another, then another. I have always wondered what people think when they see me buy so much sugar, maybe thinking I am making a ridiculous amount of jam? Until now, no-one has ever voiced their thoughts. The man looked at my sugar and then looked at me, “Are you feeding bees?” Caught a little off guard I simply replied, “yes.” He nodded knowingly and admitted he was feeding his at the moment too. We briefly shared our winter/summer news regarding our hives, and then the moment was over as quickly as it began. We, two beekeepers, simply moved along and carried on as if buying insane amounts of sugar was perfectly normal.

*As a side note I should say that I have been trying for years to buy one of these plastic dividers, but the checkout staff keep putting them back.

