Headtorches are amazing, although I think I’m using mine in a strange way. It’s still attached to my head, but I’m using it to do the gardening. At this time of year it is really difficult to find the daylight to carry out some tasks. I leave the cottage in darkness, and I return in darkness. Although, this morning I found my journey partially lit by a setting moon. The moonset has been a feature of our mornings for the last three days. I first caught it resting on the edge of the horizon on Monday as I got out of bed. As we darted about getting washed and dressed, I called the lovely Sharon to the window, “come here and see this”. She sighed, “really? I don’t have time for this.” Then when she arrived at the window the moon cast its spell and she paused, rested her head on my shoulder, and we watched for a minute or two. It’s too easy to let these moments slip by.

moonset this morning

By the time I arrived home today the moon was a bold feature again. Under this Celtic ‘Dark Moon’ I slipped on my headtorch, grabbed a spade and pickaxe, and headed out into the garden to dig a trench. I need to put in sixty feet of hedge and apparently the winter is the best time to plant them. In the summer I toyed with the idea of planting this hedge but suspected that it was a dream due to the expense of buying the trees. After a little research I stumbled upon conservation ni where I could get sixty trees for a total cost of thirty pounds! They only sell local species, but this was exactly what I want anyway. I hope to plant sixty trees which are a mixture of hawthorn, blackthorn and dog rose. With the order in I have only a short time to prepare the ground.

the darker side of gardening

Under the moon I wondered how ridiculous I must have seemed if any neighbours caught sight of my headtorch bobbing about. I imagine that it is suspicious to be digging holes at night and under a full moon. And, in truth, it was only a few days ago that I buried a dead body in the back garden.

by the light of the full moon

