Today I rushed home keen to put into practice some of the things I had learnt in the beekeeping practical session yesterday.  The sun was shining and it was warm with a medium breeze.  The wind was not ideal but I thought I would give it a go anyway.

I got half way through the inspection when the bees began to tell me, in no uncertain terms, that they were not in the mood for this kind of thing.  It appears that bees do not take kindly to electrical storms.  I already knew this but I did not think such a storm was forming so close to us here at the cottage.  I closed up the hive and decided to leave it until another day.

After I packed all my kit away and sorted out the chickens I took the little man into the garage with me to watch me paint while the lovely energetic Sharon went for a run.  She should have listened to the bees herself as she ran under growing dark clouds and threatening hail.  She says the atmosphere was strangely silent and heavy with energy.  After the rumbles far off began to grow a little I decided that the best place for the little man and I was not in a metal roofed garage.

the storm front begins to roll in

We are all safely inside now, with all the bees in their own house, and we are watching the rain through and flashes of light through the windows.  We are still on the edges of the storm but it is slowly drifting around us, it is mesmerizing.

