“PowerPoint doesn’t kill meetings. People kill meetings. But using PowerPoint is like having a loaded AK-47 on the table: You can do very bad things with it.”

Peter Norvig, Google Director of Research

 

Today I headed for University instead of school. I was lucky to be invited to give a lecture to postgraduates on the use of ICT in teaching science. I got to punish them with PowerPoint for 3 and a half hours in the morning and then I got to repeat the treatment to a different set of students in the afternoon. As part of the lecture I talk about the misuse of PowerPoint and how it can be used to crush and destroy students will. I advise that any PowerPoint for a lesson should be 3 or 5 slides with animations and images and the minimum of text, preferably no text at all.

I don’t let them know the fact that my own PowerPoint used one hundred and fourteen slides. Last year it was only one hundred and the year before that it was a mere eighty six. If I am privileged enough to return next year I am wondering how many more slides I can pile on and get away with?

