When I was just a lad (17 ish) I found a book that began a little dream.  The book was, “Ants, Bees and Wasps” by Lubbock.  This book is sitting in front of me now and makes me think that they don’t build books like they used to.  It was printed in 1888 and is still tidy (ish).

The dream was to keep bees.  Not necessarily for the honey, but mainly for the fun of it.  To be honest it was actually the ants that fascinated me most and it did spark a long running interest in hymenoptera in general.  This is a little too geeky, and it gets a little geekier at the very end of the post.

Back to the bees.  A couple of months ago the lovely Sharon and I both decided that with our move we would have the space to keep bees without concerning neighbors or our own comfort.  After spending many weeks researching I finally ordered the hives.  The frames, smoker, tools and our beehive suits will have to be sorted out soon as well.  The bees themselves will have to wait until next year I think.  I ordered two beautiful hives from nicholas at peak-hives.  They will take a little while to build but I think the quality and the use of local cedar will make it well worth the wait.

peak-hives

As part of my research I discovered many interesting blogs on beekeeping.  So far this one is my favourite.  However, it did have a post that disappointed me.  A post about bees in Northern Ireland got me excited for a few brief seconds before I realised that we had been really let down by the Belfast Telegraph:

I even asked my students today if they could spot the mistake and several of them spotted it.  This is not due to our education system as things like bees and local wildlife knowledge are simply not on the curriculum.  It is an aspect of their own education from themselves and their parents.  This is a beautiful and heart warming thing.

If you did not spot it; that’s a Bumble Bee and not a Honey Bee.  You won’t get honey from that fella. Actually it’s more likely to be a girl.

