On the radio today I heard a well repeated fact, the fact that trans fats are killing us.  This renewed my enthusiasm to try and have a slither of will power and refuse processed foods in favour of real foods.  It’s going to be hard to do this but the refusal of a mini chocolate roll today was a small victory.  The lovely Sharon and I agree with each other that home made treats taste way better than most supermarket desserts.  This of course means that we have to actually make them.  The lovely Sharon offered to help me with this tonight.  Initially this sounds great.  She is my wife, my love and my best friend, but do I trust her enough to share my secret cheesecake recipe.  I accepted her help and enjoyed the fun of cooking together (but I compartmentalized her help and prevented giving her an overview of the whole process in its completeness).

As I write, the chocolate/vanilla swirl cheesecake is baking in the oven and creating an overwhelmingly yummy smell to the house.

This all reminds me of a good read by Michael Pollan and his food rules:

1.  DON’T EAT ANYTHING YOUR GREAT-GRANDMOTHER WOULDN’T RECOGNIZE AS FOOD.
2. AVOID FOOD PRODUCTS CONTAINING INGREDIENTS THAT ARE A) UNFAMILIAR, B) UNPRONOUNCABLE, C) MORE THAN FIVE IN NUMBER, OR THAT INCLUDE D) HIGH-FRUCTOSE CORN SYRUP.
3. AVOID PRODUCTS THAT MAKE HEALTH CLAIMS.
4. SHOP THE PERIPHERIES OF THE SUPERMARKET AND STAY OUT OF THE MIDDLE.
5. GET OUT OF THE SUPERMARKET WHENEVER POSSIBLE.

These are all good principles to follow.  Although, to be fair I think granny would not have recognised tapanade and I still have a problem pronouncing houmous (hum-us or hew-mus).

