I always have a strange relationship with fiction.  Most of the time I just can’t get my head into it.  I loved the City of Thieves so I thought I would try another fiction; The Inheritors.  This was a story of the last tribe of Neaderthals as they slipped into oblivion at the coming of the aliens (that would be us*).  It’s from a famous author (Lord of the Flies) but I am sorry to say that it simply did not grip me.

However, The Gathering Night has gripped me.  I can’t put it down.  It is also about a prehistoric hunter gatherer group, but that’s not what makes it interesting and gripping.  I’m hooked.

—–

*It is a very strange and bizarre truth that we did once share this earth with another species of Human like creatures.  They died out in Europe about 30,000 years ago.  Quite likely because of competition with us.  And if you don’t think this is strange because there are lots of primates on this earth remember;  evidence suggests they had language, tool making and they buried their dead.

