Years ago I wrote about my strange experiences with OSNI and now I have stumbled upon another oddity – The Mournes Map.

The Mournes Map 1st Edition is a legend. It was loved by many and heavily used for years. I once heard an extremely experienced Mountaineer say that he believed it was the best walking map made in the UK and Ireland. Just the right amount of information and accuracy, not an overload of info that can be found in many OS maps in England. Some of these maps induce instant insanity when attempting to read them.

Rumours of a new map grew about 6 years ago. This new map was colourful, bright and was launched with pride. It received heavy criticism. Many claimed that it had mistakes all over it and was not as accurate as the old one. I can’t stand over these claims but I have experienced a few of these mistakes myself.

The map was again relaunched quietly. No fanfare that I could see, just quietly put on the shelf, a re-print with a few fixes.

Now here is the strangeness; this 3rd map is becoming hard to get. A couple of weeks ago the students claimed that they could not get the map anywhere, SOLD OUT. This is worrying as hundreds of DofE students from schools will be heading for the hills. So I began some research……

There is a new 4th Edition! Here it is. But if you look closely you can see it was published in February 2008? I have never seen this map in the shops, how could I have missed it for over a year? I will try and ring OSNI today.

UPDATE:  I rang osni and asked them when the ‘February 2008’ map would be out.  He said that they were all sitting ready to go out, although he was not to sure if they were out or not.  He gave me the number of the osni shop.  When I rang the shop they told me the manager would ring me back because they were not sure.  When the manager rang me back he said he did not have a date as he was not even sure they were all printed yet.  I told him that I had spoken to the other guy and he said they were ready to go.  He did not seem impressed with this.

So, still no clue when they will hit the shops.

