I am trying something different; adding books I read into the main posts instead of three little thumbnails to the right.

stargazers-guide

The Stargazers Guide by  Emily Winterburn

I saw this one in the shops from the start of December and was nearly tempted a few times.  Then a fried of mine got it with the intention of expanding his mythology knowledge a little bit more.  Initially he was not impressed with the book.  This put me off.  However, I looked at a couple of more times in the bookshop and was happy with the style of the short bits I skim read.  I bought it and have not been disappointed.

It only took a short time before I got into the style of it.  It is similar to a lot of other popular science books;  instructional, historical, anecdotal and easy to read.  I find it nearly impossibly to remember most of the mythological stories but little bits are sinking in.  It is a must that it be read with regular pausing and drinking in the night sky.  Fortunately I have read most of the book during a period of high pressure weather, perfect clear night skies.  Unfortunately our regular and familiar system of low after low has taken back its place above our heads.

