The lovely Sharon and I have been busy. Every weekend we have been throwing ourselves into activities to keep us occupied. This is a good thing, you feel like you have actually done something with your weekends. They are an experience in themselves and not just something to live for. We have been constantly in the mountains supervising groups or taking part in crazy marathons. So far every one of them has been a little island of beautiful weather. Mini summers.

The last weekend was the Mourne Mountain Marathon. The lovely Sharon and I did it a few years ago with our only goal being to survive. This year we were pleased to have improved on our previous performance. I can’t really say it was extremely enjoyable at the time. It’s one of those things you just want to get over with but are really pleased you have done and would do it again at the drop of a hat (with a couple of days rest). And the atmosphere was brilliant with everybody having a laugh, encouraging each other and being friendly.

Near the end I passed a small lough at the base of Slieve Lamagan. The last time I passed this lough only a week before I was struck by its beauty. I thought, at the time, how it be a beautiful winter camp. I imagined a frosty mountain range and coffee and porridge at dawn. However this time, after stomping all over the mountains for what seemed like forever, i did not have such romantic thoughts. I just wanted to go home.

