Happy birthday to me, happy birthday to me.

Relaxing today spending time contemplating life. Marking coursework today – all day.

The lovely Sharon and I have been marking coursework all day.  It’s that time of year.  We are marking rewrite after rewrite after rewrite.  Revisions upon revisions.  We will be like this for another week or so.

As we have been working so hard something has suffered… the house.  So when my family and the lovely sharon’s family rang to say they were visiting we were hit with a wave of panic.  QUICK!  Make the house semi presentable!

Just prior to their arrival I was a bit anxious as I have so much marking to do.  Then I felt annoyed with myself.  Everybody just wanted to wish me a happy birthday.  They knew we had work to to and so made their visit short.  But all I wanted, was for them to stay.*  Sometimes it is far too easy to let work cloud your vision.  Sometimes it is hard to see the important things.

*later on, the lovely sharon said she was thinking the exact same thing at the exact same time; we didn’t want them to leave.

