Those strange little moments occur when we make small discoveries.

 

One discovery was a little book I stumbled upon one day in the bookshop. The book was “cat getting out of bag”, it made me laugh and smile. When I went back to buy it I could not find it or remember the title. It was months later when I was lucky enough to find it again. It was a gentle humoured book based on the observation of cats. If you have never kept cats and got to know their little personalities then you would never understand the book. It’s for cat lovers.

 

Surfing the reading habits of another continent (amazon.com) I stumbled upon some amazing books.

 

Books truly for nerds. Chemical nerds. Napoleon’s buttons was a fantastic book. A book I could read again and again and again. It is a tour of 17 groups of chemicals that have had a major impact on history. I liked it so much that I ordered another copy in hardback. Now both copies are in the hands of my colleagues. It is a must read for science teachers. And.. People who read Napoleon’s buttons also read: Dr. Joseph A. Schwarcz. I ordered 4 of his books which took a while to cross the pond.

# Let Them Eat Flax: 70 All-New Commentaries on the Science of Everyday Food & Life

# The Fly in the Ointment: 70 Fascinating Commentaries on the Science of Everyday Life

# That’s the Way the Cookie Crumbles: 62 All-New Commentaries on the Fascinating Chemistry of Everyday Life

# The Genie in the Bottle: 68 All New Commentaries on the Fascinating Chemistry of Everyday Life

I am currently half way through one of them. It was worth the wait. These are the type of books that fill you with wonder. And witty chemical anecdotes.

